“I’ll give you a new heart, put a new spirit in you. I’ll remove the stone heart from your body and replace it with a heart that’s God-willed, not self-willed.” Ezekiel 36:26

Have you ever been in, or maybe lived in, a house where you also knew the previous occupants?

For example, I live in a home once owned by my aunt. I spent time here with her, so I remember what it looked like when she dwelled here. But her style, and her life, were much different than mine. I look around and remember how she used this house, and contrast it with how my family and I use it.

We cleared out her things when we moved in, and brought our own. We made this house ours.

God promises to do the same thing with our hearts when we turn our lives over to Him. He takes out all of our “stuff” – bitterness, unforgiveness, selfishness, fear – and replaces it with His “stuff”- joy, peace, forgiveness. He moves in and it becomes His.

It doesn’t happen overnight. We can spend years unpacking the God stuff in our hearts. But if we allow Him, He will make more of us than we ever thought possible.

