“By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.” John 13:35

Status symbols – the world is full of them. It seems like you can only be seen as important if you have the right car, the right house, or the right handbag.

I am so thankful that God’s word doesn’t require me to be known as His by any of those things. The truth is, all of those “status symbols” are fleeting. Cars break down. Homes can fall into disrepair. Fashions fall out of style. As Paul wrote to the Corinthians, the only thing that will remain in the end is love.

I don’t have the power to change my social standing, but with God’s help I can love others more. Status is all about what I can do for myself. Love is all about what I can do for others. One is temporary, the other is eternal.

How are you being known?

