“But he’s already made it plain how to live, what to do, what God is looking for in men and women. It’s quite simple: Do what is fair and just to your neighbor, be compassionate and loyal in your love, And don’t take yourself too seriously— take God seriously.” Micah 6:8

It’s easy to get discouraged and overwhelmed when we look at the state of the world today. Global communication has made us aware of more injustice and turmoil than ever before. Not even our own country, “Land of the free and home of the brave,” is immune.

What are we, as Christians, to do?

As I was listening to yet another news report about yet another problem being caused by those in power, I prayed. The Lord brought Micah 6 to my mind. I love how The Message puts it: He’s already made it plain how to live. God has plainly spelled out, in His word and through the example of His Son, what our responsibility is toward our fellow man. Obviously,  we can’t expect those who don’t profess Christ to follow God’s call, but let’s be honest: there are enough people in the world who do know the truth that if we all began living up to this standard we would see a major difference.

My heart has been impacted by this word. I know I will begin to ask God how He wants me to live it out. I pray that other Christians will begin to do the same, so that the world may know His hope, His peace, and His love.

