“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation.  The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.” 2 Corinthians 5:17

I have this odd quirk. When I go to an event (like a concert or a conference) I have to fight the urge for my mind to wander to the “behind-the-scenes” stuff. I look for the “front of house” (the command center for the lighting and sound) to see how it is configured. I seek out the projection screens and lights to see how they are designed. I look at the set up of the venue and wonder at how its design influenced the decisions of the crew.

(I partially blame my husband for this, as he has been scrutinizing such situations since I’ve known him!)

At a recent event I attended, I marvelled not only at the effects, but also at the versatility of the space. It was hard to imagine that the building looked the same from the inside, the inside was radically different depending on the purpose. I had attended basketball games, children’s shows, and concerts in that same room. Each time its purpose meant a transformation.

When we become Christians, we are able to operate in our God-given purpose. We may look the same on the outside, but our insides are now empowered for the task before us. God does a divine demolition and rebuilds us into something He can use. Others may not percieve a difference at first, but eventually it will show through.

We will only fulfill that destiny when we open ourselves to Him. Let God do His work in your life, and He will make something spectacular out of you.

