“O Lord , in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I prepare a sacrifice for you and watch.” Psalm 5:3

Everyone loves a baby dedication service, don’t they? Our church held one a couple of weeks ago and everyone “oohed and ahhed” over how cute the little ones were. It’s heartening to see their innocent little lives just starting out. They give us hope for the future.

What we’re doing, in essence, is thanking God for these gifts and consecrating them to Him during the first part of their lives.

The same thing happens when we spend the first part of our day with God. Whether you have time to spend five or forty-five minutes, it’s important that we thank God for the gift of another day and dedicate it to Him – the first, best part, before we get into the business of life.

I challenge you (and myself) to make God a priority in the morning. It’s true we can access Him any time, but if you are like me, your day can only benefit by talking with Him first thing.

