“Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.” Hebrews 4:16

I had been blessed with a little extra money, and I knew just what I wanted to spend it on: new dishes. I popped into a store – just to look. But as I passed the cart corral I stopped. I’d better take a cart, just in case I found what I was looking for. No sense having to backtrack through the store to retrieve one later!

I had an expectation that my need would be met, and I approached the situation prepared. We should also prepare ourselves when we come into God’s presence. We are promised in scripture that He hears us, that He wants us to approach Him, and that He wants to meet our needs. Whether we are searching for encouragement, enlightenment, or a physical need, we must have an attitude of expectancy if we are to recieve it.

Don’t go to Him meekly or halfheartedly. Have faith that you will be heard and answered. And don’t forget to bring a cart!

