“For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven:” Ecclesiastes 3:1

My husband and I have separate alarm clocks, one on each side of the bed. We didn’t start out that way, but when we “inherited” a second clock from a family member, it made sense. Most days of the week we have very different schedules,  so two clocks ensures that each of us gets up on time.

We have begun to notice something odd about the clocks, though. They are different models, but they are both the type that you don’t have to set. When you plug them in, they set themselves. But even though they supposedly get their information from the same source, my clock is 10 minutes faster than my husband’s! There is no way to set the time manually,  and unplugging the clocks doesn’t fix the problem. We are baffled, but I have learned to adjust.

My clock may be off, but God’s never is. Ever. It may look like it at the time,  when that opportunity passes us by or that situation never comes together. But He is always working behind the scenes, orchestrating not only your life, but that of millions more. He doesn’t need a spreadsheet or an alarm clock to keep track of it all!

It’s difficult. I know. I’ve been there. But in the end, we have to trust His clock, not our own. Otherwise, we might end up too late, or too early, and miss Him altogether.

