And he withdrew from them about a stone’s throw, and knelt down and prayed, saying, “Father, if you are willing, remove this cup from me. Nevertheless, not my will, but yours, be done.” Luke 22:41-42

My family just came into possession of a bunny – and not a small one! My husband is allergic to cats and thought that a litter-trained house bunny would be a good substitute. Now we can test his theory!

It may seem morbid, but I have already thought about what will happen if this animal meets her Maker while my husband is at work. I don’t “do” that sort of thing well, so I figure it’s best to have a game plan in advance!

Although we all ponder our own mortality from time to time, I can’t imagine how Jesus lived every one of His days on earth pondering His. He knew when, where, and how He would die. He knew there was hope in His resurrection,  but He was also human. He had seen crucifixions. He knew how painful His sacrifice would be.

And yet He did it anyway.

What an example of selfless love we have been given. It boggles the mind – and pierces the heart.

Let us go into this Easter season with a renewed sense of His great love for us, and a renewed resolution to tell others of His love for them.

