“And that’s not all. You will have complete and free access to God’s kingdom, keys to open any and every door: no more barriers between heaven and earth, earth and heaven. A yes on earth is yes in heaven. A no on earth is no in heaven.” Matthew 16:19

As I pulled into the parking lot, I got a sinking feeling in my stomach. I suddenly remembered that I had forgotten the key to the post office box. I would have no way to retrieve whatever was inside. I left empty handed.

Jesus told Peter that He was giving His disciples the key to unlock His kingdom. That transfer began when He died on the cross and the veil in the temple was torn from the top down. No more need for intermediaries to reach God; Jesus’ sacrifice opened the door between Earth and Heaven.

Unfortunately,  sometimes we forget our keys: prayer. We have needs, but we don’t take advantage of the tool we have been given. The door remains locked, and we walk away empty handed.

What locked doors are you facing today? Don’t just stand outside and wish you could open it. Don’t leave your keys at home. Pick them up, and recieve what God has for you!

