“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord , plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11

I’ve been thinking a lot about life plans lately. Our Pastor is about to begin a new sermon series about it. And other writers I follow are talking about it recently as well. It seems like everywhere I turn, there it is.

I jokingly asked my husband what “plan” we were on. “Plan ZZ. I think we’ve been through the alphabet twice!” was his reply. And I think he is right – our life now looks nothing like we imagined it would when we got married nearly 15 years ago!

My point it, that only God knows the ultimate plan for our lives, because He wrote it. He sees the end from the beginning. We would do well to yeild ourselves to Him sooner, rather than later. As my mother would say, “Get with the program!”

It can be difficult when our plans don’t work out. We don’t always understand at the time why things are happening in a certain way. But if we put our trust in God, we can be sure that His plans will come to pass – and His is the only plan that really matters.

