“Your eye is the lamp of your body. When your eye is healthy, your whole body is full of light, but when it is bad, your body is full of darkness.” Luke 11:34

My daughter and I were unwinding at the end of a long day, watching one of our favorite cooking shows.

“Mom, seeing this food is making me hungry!”

Ding, ding, ding, teachable moment!

“You’re right,” I told her. “Watching food shows can make you hungry. Anything we put in front of us a lot can affect how we feel and what we do. Commercials can make us want what they are selling. Romantic movies can put us in a romantic mood. We always have to be careful what we put in front of us.”

God’s word teaches us to guard our hearts. That tells me that there are forces outside of our hearts trying to get in and do us harm.

I admit I do not have this subject whipped! Every so often I will get a nudge from the Holy Spirit about something I am allowing into my life. But the more I listen to His voice, the easier it is to resist the outside voices trying to get in.

Sounds like that old children’s song isn’t such a bad idea, even for grownups.

