“Practice these things, immerse yourself in them, so that all may see your progress.” 1 Timothy 4:15

The worship team I serve on puts in several hours of “official” practice each week, in addition to each team member’s personal rehearsal time. Not every music ministry I have been involved with has operated this way, and some might think it’s a bit excessive and unnecessary. But here is what I know: my voice is probably in the best shape it has ever been in, and when we repeat a song we learned this way, it is easier to remember. Even if I’m working in another department and not singing on stage that week, I still attend the rehearsals so I can learn my part.

We have to practice the things of God, too. Like Paul admonished Timothy, we have to immerse ourselves in prayer and studying the word so that we, and others, can see our spiritual progress. The more we surround ourselves with God, the easier that knowledge will be to draw on when we need it.

Don’t just go to practice when you are “on.” Don’t just study and pray when you are in the middle of a battle. Practice makes perfect, and the more time we spend with Him, the more productive the fight will be.

