“Here’s another way to put it: You’re here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world. God is not a secret to be kept. We’re going public with this, as public as a city on a hill. If I make you light-bearers, you don’t think I’m going to hide you under a bucket, do you? I’m putting you on a light stand. Now that I’ve put you there on a hilltop, on a light stand—shine! Keep open house; be generous with your lives. By opening up to others, you’ll prompt people to open up with God, this generous Father in heaven.” Matthew 5:14-16

I don’t pretend to be a fashion expert, but I have learned a lot over the past few years about using contrasting colors to make things stand out. After all, I might have a beautiful turquoise shirt and a beautiful turquoise necklace, but if I wear them at the same time, neither will be viewed to its best potential.

Jesus said we were put here to be light to the world. But we can’t show God to the people of this world if we’re contunually blending in. If our actions and motivations are no different than the unsaved around us, they won’t notice the God within us.

It’s a good idea to evaluate ourselves once in a while. Are we a contrast to the world, or are we letting ourselves hide our light and blend in? Let’s not waste the light God put in us. Let it shine!

