“But this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope: The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” Lamentations 3:21-23

I love spring. I love the warm weather, the sunny days, but most of all, Iove to see new life coming from the trees and flowers around me. Those buds give me hope. It doesn’t matter what condition the leaves were in before they fell. They may have been torn, or discolored, or eaten by insects. None of that matters now. The tree has a fresh start with all new, unblemished leaves.

It reminds me of God’s love and mercy towards us. We can come to Him broken, abused, imperfect, and He gives us a clean slate and a fresh start – every time. It doesn’t matter what our past is, He is interested in giving us a future.

Those old leaves? They are gone. They won’t be back. And God forgets our past transgressions to. He is faithful and just, and He brings us new mercy every day. Thank God for springtime!

