“But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves.” James 1:22

My daughter is preparing to finish an intensive study program at our church. The final exam is the culmination of many years of work. She has memorized more scripture than I probably ever will! But as we have spent the last few days going over pages of verses, I have one prayer: Lord, don’t let these words go in one ear, and out the other.

The truth is, I’m proud of all she has learned – but I’m more concerned that she put it into practice in her life. And I want the same for myself. It’s far too easy to surround ourselves with God and never let Him into our souls.

I pray the same for you today. Don’t let God’s word into your life without letting it change you. Don’t let it go in one ear, and out the other. May we all be doers, and not just hearers only.

