“…so we, though many, are one body in Christ, and individually members one of another.” Romans 12:5

I love words. Really, I do. Anyone who has spent time with me in real life usually catches on to this fact quickly,  because I can talk your ear off! I have been known to read the dictionary for fun, and people love to have me on their team for vocabulary games.

Words in the Bible excite me, because God’s vocabulary is infinite. He does not have a “word-a-day” calendar on His desk. When the Holy Spirit inspired the biblical authors,  He could have used any words He wanted. Which is why I find significance that, over and over, we are called to be the body of Christ.

In some sense, it connotes that we are the physical beings left here on earth to do His work. But in a bigger sense, it means that we are inextricably linked to one another.

Not the club of Christ, or the troupe of Christ. The body.

What happens to one, affects us all. When a brother or sister is mourning, we mourn together. We rejoice together. We grow, or whither and die, together.

Don’t try to go it alone. If you aren’t connected,  get connected. If you are, stay that way – no matter how the enemy tries to tear you apart.

We are the Body. Let’s make sure we are living up to that name.

