“Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil.” Ephesians 5:15-16

I’m just getting back into the swing of things after a week of “staycation.” My daughter was at camp, my husband was at work, and my days were (mostly) mine to do as I pleased.

Now is the part where I contemplate the question: Did I spend those days wisely?

Really, we should be asking ourselves that question on a regular basis. After all, we all have the same number of hours in our day. Are we being wise, or wasteful, in how we spend them? Weeks like the one I’ve just had remind me how fleeting time really is – and how easily it is spent on things that don’t matter.

Sure, I caught up on laundry and on some shows waiting on my DVR. I spent extra time with people I love. I had time to meander around Target! But did I spend enough time with my Savior? Did I make Him a priority?

It’s a new week now. Time to regroup, re-evaluate, and rethink about how I use the most precious resource I have available. I need to be reminded of this every day, not just after a day off. Lord, help us all to spend our life on your timetable, not ours!

