Then he said to me, “This is the word of the Lord to Zerubbabel: Not by might, nor by power, but by my Spirit, says the Lord of hosts. Zechariah 4:6

We noticed the large pickup truck towing a travel trailer. Actually, we noticed the fact that the rig’s weight kept it from accelerating as quickly as the rest of the traffic! As we passed the truck, I looked in the driver’s seat. To my surprise, it wasn’t being driven by a big, burly cowboy – but, by a spindly man who looked to be in his 70’s.

I laughed to myself at the irony of the situation, until I felt the Spirit speak.

He needs that truck to pull the trailer, something he could not do on his own. But with the power of that truck, he can do more than should be possible.

I began to see the parallels with our lives. There are things we need to do – ministry, caring for others, just getting through a rough day – that we can’t do on our own. When others look at us, it seems ironic that we get them done. But it’s not us at all – it’s God’s spirit at work, accomplishing those things through us. We rely on His power, because we have none of our own.

What are you being called to do? It could be as big as filling stadiums, or as intimate as showing kindness to a grumpy, unchurched neighbor. It doesn’t matter what the task is, when we rely on God it will get done; to the amazement of everyone, maybe even ourselves.

