“When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you; when you walk through fire you shall not be burned, and the flame shall not consume you.” Isaiah 43:2

I have driven many, many miles in vehicles that others might call “unreliable.” (I simply called them “my only option!”) I have been stranded on the side of the road on more occasions than I care to remember. One thing I can say is, it’s a great comfort to have the right person along when it happens! You definitely don’t want a Negative Nelly at that moment to make things worse, but a prayerful companion (preferably one who knows a bit about cars) can be invaluable.

God didn’t promise that our lives would be flowery beds of ease once we placed our faith in Christ. On the contrary, His word tells us in several places that we will have troubles in this world.

We are also reassured that we don’t have to face those troubles by ourselves. Over and over, He promises to be with us. You can’t get a better travel companion than that!

If your life’s travels have gotten a little rocky, take heart and look up. He is with you, and He cares. Let Him comfort you and give you wisdom in the midst of your trials. Remember, you are never alone!

