“Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.” Psalm 23:4

My daughter and I needed to walk from one hallway in our church to another, and I suggested that we take a shortcut across the stage in the sanctuary. It was pitch black dark in the windowless room.

“Hold my hand and stay right next to me,” I instructed her. I was on that stage several times a week. Even in the darkness, I knew I could navigate past the instruments and cords because I had been there before.

God has the same instructions for us when we go through dark places: Hold on tightly. Stay close. Don’t let go, no matter how scared you may feel. I’ve been here, and I will lead you through.

What dark place are you in right now? It might be illness, job loss, marital problems,  or family drama. It might seem like the valley of the shadow of death, but you do not walk this path alone. God is with you, my friend.  He has been this way before. Hold on to Him, don’t let go, and trust Him to lead you out.

