“And your ears shall hear a word behind you, saying, “This is the way, walk in it,” when you turn to the right or when you turn to the left.” Isaiah 30:21

Oh, how much easier life would be if the faith we were instructed to live by meant that Jesus, visible and in the flesh, was walking beside us, holding our hand. But then, that wouldn’t really be faith, would it?

No, we’re expected to take steps, using only the information we have at the time. In Isaiah, we have a picture of being led from behind – as we move, He is there to guide us to the next place.

But not until we have stepped out in faith first.

He’s waiting as we walk, gently correcting us and keeping us on the right path. I’m going to be honest and own up to the fact that this scenario makes me very nervous. What if I make a step that is so out of line with His plan that He can’t redeem my mistake? What if I’ve just goofed up so royally that I’ve just thrown a monkey wrench into the whole works?

But then I have to trust Him again. And trust that no matter how badly I step out of line, He is still going to be there giving me direction. Redemption is what He does, and it doesn’t stop after we recieve salvation.

Listen for that voice in your ear today. I know I will be. And I’ll be making those moves forward, one step at a time, all the while depending on Him.

