“And who of you by worrying and being anxious can add one unit of measure (cubit) to his stature or to the span of his life?” Matthew 6:27

I am what you might call “vertically challenged.” When I was in high school, it became apparent that, unlike the rest of my family, I wasn’t going to make it past the 5’2″ mark. Even my grandmother asked me if I was going to get any taller!

My best friend in high school was in a similar situation, and I remember my mother  quoting Matthew 6:27 to us back then. I thought it was odd that Jesus was addressing issues of height, but really His message is much deeper than that.

I need a constant reminder that there are some things that are out of my control, so worrying about them is of no use. In that same passage, Jesus urged His disciples not to worry about things they had a little more say in (like food and clothing). Worrying about those things doesn’t make them appear, either. I guess our takeaway is, it doesn’t make sense to worry about anything!

I know “casting your cares on Him” is easier said than done. I’ve spent my share of sleepless nights in a fit of anxiety – some just this week. But we have to purpose in our minds that when those thoughts pop up we will take them captive and cast them down, before worry sets up shop.

I’m short. Bills come in the mail. Problems loom on the horizon. Will worry help any of that? Nope. Let’s pledge together, then, to not let it get a foot in the door!

