“I am the good shepherd. I know my own and my own know me,” John 10:14

Have you ever met someone and, at first, been unsure about them? Maybe they had some characteristic (real or perceived) that you didn’t think you liked. Maybe you found them standoffish, and hard to read.

Maybe later, as you got to know them better, you realized that none of that was the case, and they became dear and precious to you.

I have worked in ministry for most of my life, and I have seen many people approach God this way. Someone introduces them to Him, and raves about how awesome He is – but they just don’t see it. How can an awesome, holy God love them, a tangled up mess?

But then, a miracle happens. They give God a try, and they find out that He is much more than they had originally thought. They discover not only His holiness, but His love. They experience not just His awesomeness, but His care. That person, who wasn’t sure about God, begins to live in relationship and love.

Maybe you are the unsure one, or maybe there is someone you have been pointing to God but they are hesitant.  Don’t give up. Don’t stop seeking and praying. God is there, he is waiting, and He is wanting a relationship. To know Him is to love Him, and He wants to be known.

