“Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.” Romans 12:2

My mp3 player is, by technology standards at least, ancient. Seven years ago, I saved up and bought what became one of my prized possessions. Now that I have a smartphone,  though, I find it’s much more convenient usually to use it to listen to music instead of carrying a separate device.

Recently my daughter asked to listen to some music I had uploaded a couple of years ago to that mp3 player. As I looked at the song list, I realized it had been quite awhile since I had updated my music collection! Albums and artists from several years ago were there, while music I currently enjoyed was missing. What an eye opening look at how my musical tastes had changed!

I’m not the same person I was when I first purchased that music, but my player didn’t reflect that. Likewise, as we grow and change into the likeness of Christ, we must upgrade, or renew, our thought processes. We don’t look at life the same way anymore. We think differently,  and as our minds are renewed, we begin to act differently.

So, what condition is your mind in today? Do your thoughts and actions reflect who you used to be, or who you are becoming through Christ? Maybe it’s time to examine the contents, and make an update.

