“Blessed is the one who listens to me, watching daily at my gates, waiting beside my doors.” Proverbs 8:34

If you are like me, one of the first things I do each morning is check my email. Or rather, my phone makes it easy by checking it for me! And it seems I get more emails that I delete without reading than anything else. It might be a promotion from a store I don’t often frequent, or a social media notification I already saw, but there I go.

Click.click.click. Delete.

Sometimes,  though, I realize too late that I’ve accidentally deleted a message I shouldn’t have. Oops! Here I go to the trash folder to retrieve it.

I’m afraid that in all the messages that are thrown at me daily I will miss important ones from God, too. His word says that if I wait on what He is saying to me, I will be blessed. It’s important to be intently listening for Him. We have to learn to weed out the junk of the world, and train our ear to hear Him.

Above the noise. Above the trash. Above the nonesense. Just listening to Him. Let’s make it a point to practice our listening skills today.

