“For I cried out to him for help, praising him as I spoke.” Psalm 66:17

In my singing with my church’s worship ministry,  I’ve noticed that there are certain songs that are, for lack of a better term, effortless. Ive known the words and notes so well, for so long, they just flow out. I’ve studied and practiced, and those songs flow out freely.

That’s how I want my personal worship time to work, too.

All too often, instead of “worship” my cares and concerns flow out – before my praise. I don’t want that to be my first response. But to get there, I need practice. Good times and bad, sunshine and rain, ups and downs, I need to let my praise be as much a habit as breathing in and out. I want to start worshiping God before I realize it’s even happening. It want it to be automatic, but that will only come the more I enter into His presence and make it a part of my daily life.

Working on worship today…how about you?

