“I lay down and slept, yet I woke up in safety, for the Lord was watching over me.” Psalm 3:5

Lately, there has been a lot of news about governments and companies spying. What did they hear? What did they see? What do they know? It can be a bit disconcerting. But, as Christians, we know that we always have someone watching and listening – God. He is omnipresent, which means He is everywhere all at once. Talk about disconcerting! Thinking about the words I spoke in haste, or the thoughts of harm I had in anger towards someone, I dread what He must think of me!

But here is a bit of good news: that same God who listens in more often than the NSA, is also watching out for us. That’s right, He isn’t just eavesdropping so that He can incriminate us. He is protecting us, leading us, and guiding us. He isn’t just watching us…he’s watching over us.

So, the next time that feeling of dread comes over you for something you did, or said, or thought, that you shouldn’t have, don’t freak out! Ask for forgiveness, and then remember: He has a good reason to be spying on you!

