“If you claim to be religious but don’t control your tongue, you are fooling yourself, and your religion is worthless.” James 1:26

The words jumped off my tablet screen.

If you claim to be religious but don’t control your tongue, you are fooling yourself, and your religion is worthless.

Harsh, convicting words.  It’s so easy to fly off the handle at those around us when we’re angry, or spread that “prayer request” which is just thinly veiled gossip. It’s easier still to let our texts and social media posts do our dirty work for us.

As a church, we need to be so careful with our words. The night before I read this verse, I had been flipping channels and come across a preacher criticizing the worship style of some churches as too “modern.” It saddened me to think that some unsaved person might also be watching, and mighy hear the Body of Christ at war with itself.

In the military, the call that “friendly fire.” The world calls it confusing, because they don’t know whose side to take.

What is your spouse hearing you say? What do your children overhear when you think they aren’t listening? What do your friends see you posting on the internet?

I don’t want my religion to be worthless to those in my home, on my friends list, or even in the grocery store. I don’t want to speak words in anger, or haste, or frustration. Lord, help me temper my speech with your words.

Help me Lord, to keep a lid on it!

