“Just as the body is dead without breath, so also faith is dead without good works.” James 2:26

All my life, I grew up hearing my mother and my grandfather quote from James: Faith without works is dead. But it has only been recently that the true depth of this concept has hit home for me.

As the oldest of four children, it’s in my nature to try and maintain order. I want things to run smoothly, and well, in my life and others’. When I see something amiss, I want it fixed ASAP.

One of my biggest frustrations is to see a situation and not be able to fix it. I’ve been guilty of saying, “All I can do is pray,” and I do lift needs up to God. But what He has been showing me is that prayer often is my part in fixing things. Prayer is the “good work” that breathes life into my faith.

Sometimes, that prayer will lead me to do something more tangible in the situation, but sometimes my role is only to pray and watch Him work. It keeps me humble, because if I really could fix every situation every time, all on my own, I’m pretty sure pride would rear it’s ugly head!

What good works is God calling you to today? If it’s prayer, don’t discount the importance of being obedient! That prayer is the catalyst to seeing God’s kingdom work done here on earth, and you may be the only one exercising your faith in that way.

