“Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.” Phil. 4:6

Hello, my name is Melissa, and I’m a worry-holic.

Well, a recovering one, anyway.

Worry has been the one of the hardest battles I’ve ever fought, and continue to fight. When my husband and I were dating and newly married, he would catch me staring out the window in silence.

“You’re worrying again, aren’t you?” he’d ask. Except he never worries. About anything. At all. Oh, how I longed to be like him!

God spoke to my heart once, finally, and let me know that I could worry about a situation, or I could pray about it, but I couldn’t do both effectively at the same time. What a revelation!

The world expects me to panic. God expects me to pray.

So, that’s how I’m fighting this war right now. When I’m overwhelmed with worry about a situation, I have to stop myself in my tracks. I have to make a conscious decision to pray about it, and let the One who really can work in the matter get busy.

I have a choice to make every day, and so do you. You can worry, or you can pray. But you can’t do both! Which choice will you make?

