“We know what real love is because Jesus gave up his life for us. So we also ought to give up our lives for our brothers and sisters.” 1 John 3:16

I’ve had an – issue – with my pre-lit tree this year. It’s only in its third season, but when I plugged it in only one strand of lights worked! I eventually took a shower to try and calm down. When I got out,  imagine my surprise when my husband had simply bought another tree!

Those pre-lit artificial trees can be mighty convenient. But after 45 minutes of fluffing (this year on a non-working tree!) I began to wonder if a real tree wouldn’t have been better! After all, they come “pre-fluffed,” there aren’t a lot of unsightly bald spots, and you even get a nice “Christmasy” smell.

Jesus came to earth and showed us what “real love” looks like. It may seem harder and less convenient than the alternative, but there are so many added benefits!

Real love lays down its life for others. Real love extends grace and mercy. Real love looks beyond what is to what could be.

Is your love for others real, or not real? Genuine or imagined? He has come to show us the way. It’s up to each of us to follow His lead.

