I’ve had some medical issues lately, which have caused me to have some bruises. I’m fine now, but the bruises were so bad – and have taken so long to heal – that I’ve been trying my best to cover them up. I don’t want others to feel uncomfortable around me, and (since the issues that caused the bruising are getting better) I don’t want people to feel like they have to handle me with kid gloves!

This situation has reminded me that we all have scars, either externally or internally. It’s been a reminder that we all have hurts and pain that we have dealt with in the past,or are still dealing with, that we would rather others not know about. We may still be fragile, but we don’t want others feeling uncomfortable around us or treating us differently while we heal.

So we cover it up.

It’s been a reminder to me to show compassion to people around me, because I might not know what they are hiding beneath their brave exteriors. I don’t know how much concealer they’re wearing on their hearts. I don’t know how long they have had to think about whether their scars are showing when they leave the house each day.

So let it be a reminder to you, too. We all have bruises and scars. We all heal at different rates. We all need a little understanding now and then. You, me, and the lady in front of us at the grocery store.

Let’s show each other some tenderness while we all heal together.

