“For everything there is a season, a time for every activity under heaven.” Ecclesiastes 3:1

This is the point in the year when I get really,  really sick of winter. Especially this winter, which has been colder and more dreary than any I can remember. I’m counting down the days until March arrives, and checking extended weather forecasts to see when the warmer winds will blow my way.

The problem is,  I can’t wish away winter. It has a specific time and purpose, and it has to run its course before spring can be ushered in. I can’t run from it,  either. If I hop a plane to Maui today,  guess what: it’s still winter!
I can’t wish away the seasons of my life,  either, no matter how tempting that seems. Whether it’s stages of parenthood, or seasons of my relationships, or times when I feel God isn’t as close as He once was, they all have a purpose in molding me to be what God has ordained. It may not be pretty at the time, but if I endure long enough, the season will change. I will see the light at the end of the tunnel. Life will be different than it is now.

Seasons change,  in nature and in life. We don’t need to spend the times in between wishing them away, but searching for the God moments. After all,  spring may be just around the corner, and you want to be prepared for the next season when it comes.

