“So the message about the Lord spread widely and had a powerful effect.” Acts 19:20

One day last week, it showed outside my office.

It snowed.

And snowed.

And snowed.

Do you want to know how much was on the ground when I left for home?

Not a single flake.

It wasn’t because the snow had melted. Somehow, maybe because of evaporation, there was zero accumulation after a full day of snowfall.

What a waste, especially in the Deep South where snow is such a rarity!

I don’t want my life to be like that snowfall — putting forth effort with nothing to show for it. I don’t want to spend my life spinning my wheels. I want my life to be effective, to accomplish something, both for my family and for God.

I believe when we give our efforts over to God,  it’s He who gives the increase. We can’t be nearly as effective in our own power as we can be when He is involved. Little is much, as the old song says,  when God is in it.

If you’ve been trying in your own strength, give God a try instead. Let Him take your offering of your efforts and make them into more than you ever could alone. Let there be something to show at the end of the day for all the work you have done for Him.

