“A truly wise person uses few words; a person with understanding is even-tempered.” Proverbs 17:27

You know how they say “opposites attract”? That could not be more true in my marriage. My husband is everything I’m not – he thinks before he speaks, not after!  It takes a lot to get his feathers ruffled, certainly more than it takes for me. And it doesn’t surprise me that Proverbs recognizes these qualities as those belonging to a wise person.

It’s never a good thing to fly off the handle, to let our mouths run away from us. It’s never wise to speak, or act, without considering the outcome of our choices. But, if you are like me, that’s exactly what your tendency is! It’s only through surrendering ourselves, our will, and our tongue to the Lord daily that we can become overcomers in this area.

I want to be wise. I want to have understanding. And so, I want to submit myself to my Savior and let Him give my temperament a divine makeover.

