“Let us hold tightly without wavering to the hope we affirm, for God can be trusted to keep his promise.” Hebrews 10:23

“Put up or shut up.” It’s a crude schoolyard taunt, but it’s basically what the writer of Hebrews is advising us to do.

So, you claim to be a Christian. So, you profess faith in Christ. So, you say He brings you hope, peace, and joy.

Prove it.

Prove it by holding firm to that hope. Prove it by not giving up in the face of trials and adversity. Prove it by keeping your eyes fixed on Jesus, even as chaos erupts all around you.

It’s a tall order, to be sure – and personally, it isn’t one I always fulfill. But I have been challenged by this word. The world is watching. The people in my life are watching. They are waiting to see if I really believe what I claim to, and if my Lord can really do what I’ve claimed He can.

They are watching to see how I react in a crisis. And my friend, they are watching you, too. So, hold on. Don’t give up. We can trust Him, and the world needs to see that we do.

