“There is more than enough room in my Father’s home. If this were not so, would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you?” John 14:2

My daughter likes to know what’s coming up next. She likes to be ready. I am more of a fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants type, but she isn’t satisfied with that. I don’t think it’s a trust issue – she really does want to know what’s for lunch, it’s not that she doesn’t think we’ll have any!

Jesus tried to make sure His disciples were prepared for the future by telling them what was coming up next. He told them about His death and resurrection, even if they didn’t understand it. And He told them how this would all end up – in Heaven with the Father.

My daughter is comforted when she knows I’m ready, and we can take comfort knowing that the Lord has things ready for us, too. We can trust that He has our best interest at heart, and that He is ready to see us through whatever is coming our way.

