“Look! I stand at the door and knock. If you hear my voice and open the door, I will come in, and we will share a meal together as friends.” Revelation 3:20

I have some wonderful friends who have graciously welcomed me into their homes over the years. Many of them have homes well-suited to hosting such gatherings: open floor plans, centrally located, plenty of room.

By contrast, my home is very small, and we live a considerable distance from most of our friends and family. As a result, we don’t have guests over very often. As my mother might say, we “aren’t fixed for company!”

We all have a guest who wants to commune with us, whether we live in a hovel or a mansion. He doesn’t care about our outward appearance or what distance He has to travel to reach us. He cares about one thing: the condition of our heart.

Jesus wants us to fulfill our purpose through fellowship with Him. He came to brings us into right relationship with the Father and to know us on an intimate level.

Apartment or row house, Colonial or Nantucket, cottage or grand Victorian – no matter what you look like on the outside, He wants to come inside.

Isn’t it time to let Him in?

