I am no green thumb. In fact, just about the only plant I’ve managed not to kill was a rubber plant I had for several years when we were first married. (I later learned that they are almost impossible to kill, so…) But, I have been blessed with a lovely, long porch that tempts me each spring to hang baskets of colorful flowers. Easy-peasy, right?

This year, I hung my baskets as usual – but we were hit with late frost just before Easter. The half of my baskets which were exposed, away from the porch roof, turned brown and ugly. The protected side was still bright and beautiful! That didn’t matter, though. All I could focus on was the withered side.

My husband encouraged me to keep caring for the plants as if they were still healthy and whole. So each morning I would take my watering can, stand on my tiptoes, and let them have a drink. And then one day – progress! Yes, there were still brown, wilted flowers and leaves on one side. But there was also new growth, and signs that all was not lost after all.

Sometimes I feel like a frostbitten flower, and I’m guessing you do, too. Sometimes the damage to my spirit is so great, I want to give up. I want to throw in the towel and defiantly declare that I’m going to shut the world out and not try anymore. But then – the Gardener of my soul keep pouring in living water. He sees that there is still potential in me yet, and He never gives up on me.

So for all the frostbitten flowers in the world, remember new life is just around the corner. Keep receiving the water that makes us thirst no more. Let Him continue to tend to your heart. And keep hope alive that new life will spring forth one day.

