It is the same with my word. I send it out, and it always produces fruit. It will accomplish all I want it to, and it will prosper everywhere I send it.” Isaiah 55:11

Sometimes it seems like people want to treat Holy Scripture like a wizard’s book of spells. They use it to try and mold the events around them to what they want, to present God with a “shopping list”  of how they want things to roll out.

I’m not saying we can’t claim the promises in His word and stand on them, believing them to come to pass in our lives. But those words are meant to accomplish God’s will in us and in the earth, not the other way around. We are molded to His image; we don’t mold Him to ours.

He promised that His word would be fruitful and accomplish what He wants, not what we want. Let’s keep the proper perspective and let His word do His work in us.

