“May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing to you, O  lord , my rock and my redeemer.” Psalms 19:14

I was riding down the road with my family, discussing a situation. I almost said something, which I realized before it left my lips would not have been appropriately Christ-like. I stopped short.

My daughter noticed.

“Mom, what were you going to say?“

“Something I thought better of.”

“Tell me! You can’t just do that to me! You might as well say it – you thought it already!“

Well, not quite. See, I didn’t let her know what I was thinking. I didn’t need to say it, even if I had thought it. Saying it would cause more damage to others.

Thinking it in the first place would cause more damage to me.

Yes, it’s good to keep our mouths shut in the absence of something edifying to say. But David knew the damage a poor thought life could have. That’s why he prayed that His words and his thoughts would be right in God’s sight.

A successful outward life starts with a successful inner life. If we get our thoughts under control, the words coming out of our mouths will be sweet.
Don’t just keep your mouth shut – learn to keep your “inner voice” pleasing to Him as well.

