“This I declare about the lord : He alone is my refuge, my place of safety; he is my God, and I trust him.” Psalms 91:2

I had an epiphany in the car wash.

My daughter was enjoying the experience.

Now, that might not seem like a big deal. But it taught me a great deal. You see, when she was a toddler, my daughter was terrified of car washes. She would tremble and cry so much that one of us had to wait outside with her while the car went through. She talked about car washes when we were at home, and she would wake up at with nightmares about them.

But now, there was no trace of fear. As she grew, as we worked with her on this phobia and prayed, she had realized that she had nothing to fear when the car was getting clean. The big, noisy brushes could not harm her. The car was between her and the chaos, and she was safe.

As I thanked God (again) for the shift, He spoke to my heart about my fears. He showed me that if I abide in Him, He will keep me from harm. He stands between me and the chaos without, keeping me safe within. I don’t have to be afraid of what life throws my way, because it can’t hurt me.

Rest in the safety of Him today. Watch the storms through the glass of His protection, and know that He has you kept safe. Next time you pass a car wash, remember His care for you!

