“Now, tell me what you are going to do. If you plan to respond with a generous yes, tell me. But if not, tell me plainly so I can figure out what to do next.” Genesis 24:49

I find myself, when I sit down to watch television, either gravitating to medical or crime shows. (Probably because that’s all that is on, besides reality TV!) You can pick up a fair amount of information from these programs, including the terms, or jargon, those professions tend to use.

After going through a medical situation myself last year, I figured out quickly that nothing was in plain English. Everything had a different terminology, and I became well-versed in “medical speak” almost overnight!

Aren’t you glad that God doesn’t use some high-falutin, fancy language to speak to us? Yes, some translations of the Bible use more formal wording than others, but His instructions to us are always plain: Love me. Love each other. Serve. Give. Turn.

God has no need for jargon. No matter how complicated some may want to make walking with Him, He lays it all out for us. It’s plain and simple, and we can understand it.

