“Most of all, love each other as if your life depended on it. Love makes up for practically anything.” 1 Peter 4:8

We’ve all heard it, all our lives:

Love covers a multitude of sins

Growing up, I always thought this verse meant God’s love covers our sins. And it does. Love is the reason He sent His son to die for us, and love is why Jesus followed that plan.

But the older I get, I realize that it’s my love for others that helps put the things they do into perspective. I’m not saying we should rationalize and accept outright sin. But I am saying that our love for each other helps us be more understanding, more forgiving, and more full of grace towards our fellow man. When we realize that we aren’t perfect all the time, either, it can give us some much-needed perspective on the others around us.

So I encourage you today to look at your neighbor not with contempt and judgement, but with love. After all, it’s the way our Heavenly Father looks at us – every day.

