“Start with God—the first step in learning is bowing down to God; only fools thumb their noses at such wisdom and learning.” Proverbs 1:7

I have the privilege to homeschool my daughter. I’m thankful, but my goodness – she is 13 after all – some days, she just doesn’t want to be taught!

She shuts down. She makes excuses. She comes up with every reason in the world why she just can’t do this!

I have to pray that I don’t do the same thing when God tries to teach me something.

I have to be humble. God can’t teach me anything if I act like I know everything already.

I have to be open. God may try to teach me something that challenges an assumption I’ve had for years.

I have to be willing. God isn’t going to shove wisdom down my throat! I have to be in a position to receive what He’s handing out.

My daughter can learn anything she wants, but sometimes she just doesn’t want to be taught. And I can be the same way! Hopefully, as I mature in my faith, I will be more and more receptive to the lessons He has planned.

