If you don’t know what you’re doing, pray to the Father. He loves to help. You’ll get his help, and won’t be condescended to when you ask for it. Ask boldly, believingly, without a second thought. People who “worry their prayers” are like wind-whipped waves. Don’t think you’re going to get anything from the Master that way, adrift at sea, keeping all your options open.” James 1:5-8

So, from time to time, I (like most of us) have some decisions to make. And, being the oldest child of four, I tend to have an overdeveloped sense of responsibility and act like everything depends on me.

But James chapter 1 tells us that we can ask our Heavenly Father for wisdom, and He’ll give it to us freely. And I’ve prayed that prayer on many occasions.

But I’ve also prayed it, and still relied on myself, and my own resources, to know what to do. I “worry my prayers” as this translations puts it, which really means I’m not relying on Him.

I have to remind myself (daily!) to pray to Him for wisdom, and then trust HIM with the outcome. My faith is manifested in not striving to get the answers myself, but listening for His guiding voice in all that I do.

So, I say I’m counting on God, but who am I really depending on? I think I know the answer, and I think I know what I need to work on. How about you?

