“Listen to the words of the wise; apply your heart to my instruction. For it is good to keep these sayings in your heart and always ready on your lips.” Proverbs 22:17-18

I had to run to the store recently to pick up some emergency supplies for a work function. As I left the parking lot, it started raining.

A lot.

And as luck would have it, there was not a single parking space anywhere near the entrance! I came back looking rather like a drowned rat.

Ironically, I have a perfectly functional umbrella. It’s cute. It was a gift from my mother, and has a print of newspaper comic strips (in recognition of my former life as a journalist.)

Problem is, that umbrella isn’t in my car. It’s under my desk. When is the last time I had to dodge a shower in my own office? How about never?

God’s word is like that too. It’s all well and good to have it sitting on a printed page or in our smartphone app, but unless we keep it handy in our hearts, it isn’t going to do us one bit of good.

I’ve made an effort this new year to not just read the word, but to hide it in my heart. I’ve made memorization a priority. Will I make my goal of 24 verses in a year? Who knows? But the main point is that every step I take gets me one step closer to Him, and one step closer to having a ready supply of His wisdom at my disposal.

What are you doing to keep His word handy?

