“Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.” Matthew 6:33

My dogs have these plastic bones. They love them. I mean, really love them. They wore out one set already, and are on their second go-around! (Good thing they aren’t very expensive.) It amazes me how they can take a piece of plastic and it will keep them occupied for what passes for an eternity to their short attention spans. They are protective of them, to the point that if one tries to swipe a bone from the other dog, some growling and snarling will commence.

One morning, my dogs needed to be occupied so I could enjoy my cup of coffee in peace, so I doled out the toys. Wyatt took his and lay down with it between his paws, happily gnawing away.

But Annie, she didn’t want the bone. She brought it over to my chair, dropped it into my lap, and looked up at me, wagging her tail. She didn’t want the bone, she wanted ME.

I got a picture of how I hope I respond to my Heavenly Father. Not wanting His stuff, not wanting to have some “toys” handed out. Just HIM. Just to sit in His presence, enjoying the closeness, learning to rest in him.

His word promises that if I do that, I won’t have to worry about the “stuff.” It will come, right when I need it.

The next time I bring out my “wish list” when I’m speaking to my creator, I pray I remember Annie – no treat, no toy, just Him.

