“The Lord is my light and my salvation— so why should I be afraid? The Lord is my fortress, protecting me from danger, so why should I tremble?” Psalm 27:1

I tend to be an ostrich-in-the-sand type person when things get messy. I mean it. Even down to my checkbook. I’d rather hand it over to my husband, and say, “Here, honey! I trust you to fix it and make everything bad go away!”

(I learned from Dave Ramsey that I couldn’t do that anymore, by the way.)

There are several times in scripture where God is referred to as our light, the light of the world, the light to our path. But here in Psalms, He isn’t just light – He is our salvation!

What an odd pairing. But maybe not.

Remember when the Hebrews were crossing the Red Sea and Pharaoh’s army was chasing them? And then as soon as the Israelites got across, the sea collapsed upon itself and drowned the mightiest army on the face of the earth? It was a faith builder for God’s people!

And Gideon? The scared little guy hiding out in a winepress with his wheat, who God sent into battle with fewer men than I had people in my high school graduating class? What two things did they take with them? A clay pot. And a torch. So they could see what God was doing!

God is our salvation. But He is also our light. He wants to show us what He is doing, so that our faith can be built and our strength renewed. It’s all well and good when He delivers us, but if we don’t recognize it, we miss a golden opportunity to grow.

He is our light – showing us His salvation. How cool is that?

