“May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart, be pleasing to you, O Lord, my rock and my redeemer.” Psalm 19:14

I was praying about a situation where I was going to have to speak with someone about an important matter, asking the Holy Spirit to help me with the words I needed to say.

A thought began to form in my brain, one I was surprised hadn’t been there before: I need all the words I say to be but there by the Lord.

Not just when I have an important conversation on the horizon. Not just when someone is coming against me and I need to respond. Not just when I’m conscious of what comes out of my mouth. All the words, all the time.

How much of a difference would I make in the relationships around me if I only spoke things that God was pleased with? How different would the world be if we all made that commitment?

Lord, all my words, all the time – may it all be pleasing to you!

